Lessons in Personal Leadership Development: where do I go from here?

What have I learned?

What I have learned about myself and building my own authentic leadership through personal leadership development process and creation of my own personal leadership development plan is that there are many characteristics and considerations to take when assessing leadership qualities. Before taking this class I thought I had a good grasp on what makes a good leader. What I have learned is that leadership is not a simple as being defined by a few set characteristics. Leaders can actually be divided in to different types; such as compete, control, collaborate, and create. I also learned that leaders are defined by motivations, values, vision, and personality. But most of all I have learned that nobody possesses all of the leadership qualities covered in class, what really makes a good leader is the ability to find balance but recognize nobody is perfect.

Memo to Myself:

Always remember how naturally comfortable you are when it comes to stepping up and directing people. You are very motivated, energized, and work to the best of your ability. In addition, you are very organized, which helps focus on what’s important and what’s not.

Memo to my Team:

On behalf of your manager, I would like to leave you with a few words of advise that will help you take your performance from good to great. First, communication is key to success. When working in a team it is important to communicate goals, values and vision so that everyone is on the same page with the project. It is also key to coordination and understanding. I deem positive attitude as quality that will increase job performance too. Co-workers respect people with a positive attitude, and having a good attitude means greater work productivity and efficiency. Although the above things I listed are extremely important, one quality most people take for granite is passion. Passion is extremely important when it comes to performance, as it motivates and drives people to perform. Passion is the key to job satisfaction and an increasing quality of work so please do not take it for granite.

 

Leave a Reply

